Teamspaces
Bianca Wetter avatar
Written by Bianca Wetter
Updated this week

What is a teamspace?

A teamspace is a collaborative area where you can organize your content and share it with others to edit, comment or view. Teamspaces are located in the bottom left corner of your sidebar.


Why use teamspaces?

  • Team collaboration: Teamspaces offer a shared space for team members to collaborate by sharing team-relevant content.

  • Organizing the homepage: by using teamspaces, you can organize content for specific teams, departments, or groups in one and the same place.

  • Content security: Teamspaces enhance content security by the different access levels, which can ensure that only members have access to the content within the teamspace. Read more about access levels below.

  • Promote shared learning: By facilitating easy content creation and sharing, Teamspaces encourage a decentralized learning approach with its members.

Teamspace use case examples

  • Project collaboration: A teamspace can be created for a specific project team, allowing members to share, access, and collaborate on relevant learning materials and resources related to the project.

  • Departments or Teams: A teamspace can be set up for specific roles within the company, such as "Sales Team" or "HR Team", where role-specific materials and courses can be shared and accessed by the relevant team members.

  • Content groups: you can also create a teamspace for specific types of content; such as a teamspace for operating manuals or for company policies. This makes the content easier to access.



Types of Teamspaces

There are two types of teamspaces.

  1. Public Teamspaces: Open to all in the company, good for sharing and teamwork. These are browsable, by clicking on browse on the bottom of the global sidebar. Everyone can join them.

  2. Invite-Only Teamspaces: Only certain people can join, if they are invited.

Teamspace members

Teamspaces members can be individuals or groups.

  • Members are assigned a user access level that applies to all the content within a teamspace.

  • For non-teamspace members, the content in a teamspace is not visible. However, they may have access to the content within if they have direct access to the content or an open link access/visibility

Teamspace access levels

When defining a user's or group's access level this applies to all content within a teamspace. Please see the below for how each access level is defined:

  • Owner

    • The highest level of access in a teamspace

    • Have the authority to execute all the functions that other roles can perform (read below)

    • Only the owner can delete the teamspace

  • Can edit

    • Edit, publish, unpublish, and move content in teamspace

    • Can add, edit, or remove teamspace members and their user access level

    • Has content collaboration controls; can add or edit existing user access levels for individual content within the teamspace

      • The teamspace content will be listed under "All content" on your Home page

      • The teamspace content is listed in your search results

      • You cannot make other changes to the teamspace settings

  • Can comment

    • Can see all the cards in the courses, highlight text and make comments

    • All users with can edit or comment access have visibility of the former

    • The content will be listed under "All content" on your Home page

      • The content is listed in your search results

      • You cannot make changes to the content, nor publish the content

      • You cannot change teamspace members or any settings

  • Can view

    • Can see and learn the last published version of content

      • The content will be listed under "All content" on your Home page

      • The content is listed in your search results

      • You cannot make changes to the content, nor publish the content

      • You cannot change teamspace members or any settings

💡 Teamspaces have the same access levels as content.

Create or edit a new teamspace

Create a Teamspace

To create a new teamspace you must be an administrator or group admin

  1. Access the Global Sidebar and click Browse

  2. A new window displays on the right, click on New teamspace

  3. Add a name, description, and members (and user access levels - see above)

  4. Choose if you want it to be invite only or public (see more about these above)

  5. Click Save

Edit your Teamspace

If you are the owner of a teamspace you can change the name, description, and members of a teamspace through the Settings in the teamspace. You can edit the user access levels here too (see above).

Watch the video below which demonstrates how to create and edit a teamspace:

Move content to or from a teamspace

You can move content to a teamspace in multiple ways

  1. Directly from the teamspace: by clicking the arrow next to "New". Choose "Import content" and move whichever courses you would like. This option suits well when wanting to bulk import content you have access to into the teamspace.

2. From the editor view of content via the 3 dot-menu in the top right, select "Move"

3. By dragging-and-dropping content on your Homepage

💡 Note! Content can only belong to one teamspace at a time. Meaning, if you from the dropdown move content to one teamspace from another, it will disappear from the first one. You will get a confirmation question on this which you will have to accept before confirming the move of the content.

Watch the video below which demonstrates how you can easily move courses to teamspaces.

Who can move content?

As an owner or editor of a teamspace you can:

  • Move content into and out of the teamspaces where you are the owner or editor

  • Move content from ‘My content’

  • Move content from ‘Shared with me’

FAQ

What happens if I am the owner of the content in a teamspace and it is moved to a teamspace which I do not have access to?

You still retain ownership and can access the content via ‘Shared with me’ in the 'Create' tab

What happens if I am the owner of the content in a teamspace and I am removed as a collaborator in the teamspace?

You still retain ownership and can access the content via ‘Shared with me’ in the 'Create' tab

What happens to the content if the teamspace is deleted?

The content is deattached from the teamspace, and the direct collaborators (owner and any added editors) can find it in ‘My content’ or ‘Shared with me’

Did this answer your question?